Alameda County Fire Department

Firefighter Heather Marques

Alameda County spans from the shores of the San Francisco Bay to the golden inland hills. Alameda County Fire Department (ACFD) is comprised of multiple consolidated agencies that began joining forces and sharing resources in 1993.

Protecting unincorporated county land as well as Ashland, Cherryland, San Lorenzo, Castro Valley, San Leandro, Dublin, Union City, Newark, Emeryville, and the National Laboratories at Livermore and Berkeley, ACFD serves over 500 square miles and 330,000 citizens.

This legacy stretches back 140 years, recalling the shared experiences of bucket brigades, teams of horses pulling steam-engine pumpers down muddy roads, the advent of motorized apparatus, and the days when school boys would be pulled from class to ride tailboard to fight blazes in the hills.

These agencies have sent soldiers to two world wars, survived massive earthquakes, fought catastrophic wildfires, and touched the lives of Bay Area citizens for over a century. The ACFD is the sum of its many unique parts, which together form a premier, all-risk fire department.

Bookmark and Share
About the Author: Firefighter Heather Marques, who works with the Alameda County Fire Department, has collected dramatic images and stories from each original agency, showcasing the rich traditions and common culture that the American fire service shares.
SpecificationsArcadia Publishing, 2016
6.5" x 9" softcover
128 pages, 213 black & white photos
ISBN: 9781467134286